Neymar and N'Golo Kante on Ballon d'Or shortlist


Harry Kane, Neymar, N’Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne and Philippe Coutinho are among the many first 15 gamers on the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist for the 2017 award.

Ballon d’Or organisers France Soccer have launched the primary 15 names to be included on the shortlist and Neymar is joined by Premier League stars Kane, De Bruyne, Kante, Coutinho and David De Gea.

Tottenham’s Harry Kane has gained recognition for a 2016-17 season through which he gained his second consecutive Premier League Golden Boot award.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane is among the many 30 gamers named on the Ballon d’Or shortlist

Philippe Coutinho's form for Liverpool attracted a £138m offer from Barcelona this summer

Philippe Coutinho’s type for Liverpool attracted a £138m supply from Barcelona this summer time

The England striker is at present having fun with a wealthy vein of type and his winner towards Lithuania on Sunday night time was his fifteenth strike in his final ten matches for membership and nation.

Neymar’s £198million transfer to Paris Saint-Germain from Barcelona this summer time was reportedly partly motivated by a want to say the award after ending fifth within the 2016 voting.

And the 25-yr-previous has settled in to life on the Parc des Princes shortly with eight objectives in his opening eight matches in all competitions.


Neymar – Paris Saint-Germain

N’Golo Kante – Chelsea

Luka Modric – Actual Madrid

Paulo Dybala – Juventus 

Marcelo – Actual Madrid 

Edin Dzeko – Roma

Harry Kane – Tottenham

David De Gea – Manchester United

Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich

Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester Metropolis

Philippe Coutinho – Liverpool

Luis Suarez – Barcelona

Jan Oblak – Atletico Madrid

Sergio Ramos – Actual Madrid

Dries Mertens – Napoli 

Kante was the primary Premier League star to be introduced following a 2016-17 marketing campaign which noticed the midfielder scoop PFA Gamers’ Participant of the Yr honours as Chelsea gained the title. 

He’s joined by Brazilian midfielder Coutinho, whose excellent type for Liverpool final season attracted bids value £138m from Barcelona in the summertime.

Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea makes the listing after lacking out in 2016 and Man Metropolis’s Belgian midfielder De Bruyne has additionally been named.

De Bruyne has adopted on from a robust 2016-17 marketing campaign with Metropolis by starting this season in prime type – scoring the winner towards Chelsea at Stamford Bridge final outing.  

Neymar has been named on the 30-man Ballon d'Or shortlist following his move to PSG

Neymar has been named on the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist following his transfer to PSG

N'Golo Kante is on the shortlist after playing a key role in Chelsea's title-winning campaign

N’Golo Kante is on the shortlist after enjoying a key position in Chelsea’s title-profitable marketing campaign

Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric and Marcelo are included after enjoying pivotal roles for Actual Madrid as they claimed a Champions League and La Liga double in 2016-17. 

Barcelona striker Luis Suarez, who got here fourth in 2016 voting, can also be current whereas Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Jan Oblak has been named on the 30-man shortlist for the primary time in his profession.

And Serie A duo Paulo Dybala, Dries Mertens and Edin Dzeko have additionally made the record. Dybala loved a breakthrough marketing campaign for Juventus as they stormed to the league title whereas Mertens netted 34 objectives enjoying as a makeshift No 9 for Napoli.

Dzeko continues to take pleasure in a renaissance at Roma – the Bosnian goal man scored 39 occasions in fifty one appearances in his second season within the Italian capital.

Kevin De Bruyne scored a stunning winner for Manchester City against Chelsea last time out

Kevin De Bruyne scored a shocking winner for Manchester Metropolis towards Chelsea final outing

Goalkeeper David De Gea has been included after missing out on the 30-man shortlist last year

Goalkeeper David De Gea has been included after lacking out on the 30-man shortlist final yr

Bayern Munich star Robert Lewandowski is included. The Polish striker mocked the Ballon d’Or voting system after ending sixteenth final yr.

Cristiano Ronaldo stays the heavy favorite to defend his 2016 crown. He clinched final yr’s title forward of Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann and is predicted to be among the many names introduced later within the day. 

If Ronaldo wins this yr he would equal Messi’s haul of 5 Ballon d’Ors. The rivals have shared the final 9 awards between them since Ronaldo claimed his first in 2008 as a Manchester United participant. 

The remaining 20 names on the shortlist will probably be introduced at intervals all through Monday with the complete shortlist set to be revealed by 6.15pm.  

Real Madrid trio Sergio Ramos (left), Marcelo (centre) and Luka Modric (right) are on the list

Actual Madrid trio Sergio Ramos (left), Marcelo (centre) and Luka Modric (proper) are on the listing

Luis Suarez of Barcelona and Uruguay makes the list after finishing fourth in the 2016 voting

Luis Suarez of Barcelona and Uruguay makes the record after ending fourth within the 2016 voting